New Jersey Residential Lease Agreement | PDF – MS Word
A New Jersey residential lease agreement is a fixed-term lease between a landlord and tenant that is common for a 1 year period. A tenant should be properly vetted through a rental application before signing. If approved, the tenant will be required to pay the security deposit, 1st month’s rent, and any other fees. The agreement should clearly outline the responsibilities of both parties, required disclosures, and the utilities to be included in the rent (e.g. electricity, hot water, internet).
Table of Contents
- Forms (2)
- Security Deposit Laws
- Required Disclosures
- Rent Grace Period
- Guides & Laws
Standard Lease Agreement
Download: Adobe PDF, MS Word
Association of Realtors Lease Agreement
Download: Adobe PDF, MS Word
Security Deposit Laws
Maximum Amount ($) – The lessor cannot demand any more than one and a half times (1.5x) the monthly rent as a security deposit. Should the lessee renew the lease for more than a year, the lessor may request as much as an additional ten percent (10%) of the monthly rent. (§ 46:8-21.2).
Returning – The lessor has thirty (30) days to return the deposit to the lessee (§ 46:8-21.1).
Flood Zone – In the case that the property is located in a flood zone (as defined here), the lease must provide a full disclosure explaining this fact and the associated danger.
Lead-Based Paint – Any structure built prior to 1978 may contain lead-based paint; the lease agreement must include a disclosure should this be the case.
Window Guards – Each lease agreement must contain a statement (see below) detailing the landlord’s responsibilities with regard to window guards. § 55:13A-7.14
“The owner (landlord) is required by law to provide, install and maintain window guards in the apartment if a child or children 10 years of age or younger is, or will be, living in the apartment or is, or will be, regularly present there for a substantial period of time if the tenant gives the owner (landlord) a written request that the window guards be installed. The owner (landlord) is also required, upon the written request of the tenant, to provide, install and maintain window guards in the hallways to which persons in the tenant’s unit have access without having to go out of the building. If the building is a condominium, cooperative or mutual housing building, the owner (landlord) of the apartment is responsible for installing and maintaining window guards in the apartment and the association is responsible for installing and maintaining window guards in hallway windows. Window guards are only required to be provided in first-floor windows where the window sill is more than six feet above grade or there are other hazardous conditions that make installation of window guards necessary to protect the safety of children.”
Rent Grace Period
The tenant is granted by law, a five (5) day grace period in which to pay the rent. After the grace period has passed, the landlord may charge a late fee as defined in the lease agreement (NJ Rev Stat § 2A:42-6.1).
Guides & Laws