Virginia Residential Lease Agreement | PDF – MS Word
A Virginia residential lease agreement is a rental contract between a landlord and a tenant that binds them together for a predetermined period of time (commonly 12 months). The items usually most negotiated between the parties are the following:
- Rental amount
- Utility payments – Electricity, water, heat, air conditioning (if any), cable, etc.
- Fees – Pets (if any) and parking
- Garbage/waste management
The landlord may ask to view the tenant’s credit and verify employment through the rental application. Most will only want to view the person’s credit score while others may seek more extensive information and request for references such as the tenant’s previous landlords. After the verification is complete and the tenant is approved, a lease will be drafted and made ready for both parties to “close” or authorize.
Table of Contents
- Agreements (3)
- Security Deposit Laws
- Required Disclosures
- Rent Grace Period
- Guides & Laws
Download: Adobe PDF
Maximum Amount ($) – Two (2) months’ rent (§ 55.1-1226(A))
Returning – The deposit must be returned within forty-five (45) days after the date that the tenancy expires (§ 55.1-1226(A)).
Lead-Based Paint Disclosure – If the housing unit was constructed prior to 1978, the tenant must sign the lead paint disclosure. The completed disclosure must be attached to the rental agreement.
Owner/Landlord Disclosure – Before signing a rental agreement, tenants must receive a disclosure containing the name and address of the owner and any other individual with permission to act on the owner’s behalf and manage the premises (§ 55-248.12(A)).
Defective Drywall Disclosure – Landlords with knowledge of defective drywall in a residential dwelling must disclose this information to rental applicants (§ 55.1-1218).
Military Air Zone Disclosure – If a property is located in an area containing a military air installation, the tenant must receive a written disclosure notifying them that the area may experience excessive noise, potential accidents, or both (§ 55.1-1217).
Move In – Move Out Checklist – The landlord must, within five (5) days of a new tenancy, provide the tenant with an itemized list of any damages to the property (§ 55.1-1214). Included with this disclosure must be a statement specifying whether the dwelling contains any visible mold (§ 55.1-1215).
Sale of Premises Disclosure – If a property is sold, the landlord must provide tenants with the name, address, and phone number of the purchaser (§ 55.1-1216).
Demolition Disclosure – If a multiunit dwelling is being substantially demolished or renovated within six (6) months, prospective tenants must be informed of this information by the landlord (§ 55.1-1216)
Special Equipment, Submetering, and Systems Disclosure – Landlords who use the equipment for energy submetering, energy allocating, water and sewer submetering, or a ratio utility billing system must state this information in the rental contract (§ 55.1-1404).
There is no rent grace period in Virginia (§ 55.1-1245(F)). If rent is not paid when due, the landlord may serve a 5-day notice to quit on the tenant. If the tenant does not pay within the five (5) day notice period the landlord has the option to terminate the lease agreement.